The Introduction to Social Care - Level 2 Course is designed to provide an understanding of the role of a carer and is aimed at people caring in the home setting as well as those entering social care on a professional basis.

The home study Social Care courses are suited to people of all ages seeking to gain a more formal understanding of the principles of caring for others in a range of settings.

On successful completion of this course students will receive an accredited Level 2 Certificate of Achievement.


  • To develop the student’s knowledge and understanding of the role and skills of caring.

  • To explain the role of government and other agencies in providing and funding care.

  • To create an understanding of the health and safety aspects of care.

  • To create and understanding of the principles of equality in providing care.

  • To develop basic caring skills.

The Home Study Courses Include the Following 5 Lessons:-

  • Unit One –Introduction to the Role of the Carer

The following topics are covered: Types of caring roles; Who needs care and why; and A carers role.

  • Unit Two –The Role of the Government

The following topics are covered: Definition of a carer; What a carers assessment is; How the Government can help; and The protection of vulnerable adults and children.

  • Unit Three – Health & Safety in Care Environments

The following topics are covered: Introduce the Care Quality Commission; Health and Safety; Risk Assessments; and Security.

  • Unit Four –Valuing People’s Equality, Diversity & Rights

The following topics are covered: Definitions; Different types of discrimination; Principles of good practice; Discrimination- who is at risk; and Where to get advice.

  • Unit Five –Basic Care Skills

The following topics are covered: Factors to consider; Needs; The future; and Working in the caring profession.


There are no particular entry requirements.

Course Duration & Support:

Students may register at any time and have a full year to complete their studies. You also have access to a personal tutor by mail or email for a 12 month period. As the home study courses are self study you can complete in as little or as long a time as you prefer.


You will be assessed on coursework which is detailed in the course materials. Most coursework consists of short paragraph answers to set questions. Your work can be sent back to your course tutor by email or by post.


At the end of this course successful learners will receive a Certificate of Achievement from ABC Awards and Certa Awards and a Learner Unit Summary (which lists the components the learner has completed as part of the course).

The course has been endorsed under the ABC Awards and Certa Awards Quality Licence Scheme. This means that Kendal Publishing has undergone an external quality check to ensure that the organisation and the courses it offers, meet defined quality criteria. The completion of this course alone does not lead to a regulated qualification* but may be used as evidence of knowledge and skills gained.

The Learner Unit Summary may be used as evidence towards Recognition of Prior Learning if you wish to progress your studies in this subject. To this end the learning outcomes of the course have been benchmarked at Level 2 against level descriptors published by Ofqual, to indicate the depth of study and level of demand/complexity involved in successful completion by the learner.

Information on level descriptors can be found on the Ofqual's level descriptors page.

The course itself has been designed by Kendal Publishing to meet specific learners’ and/or employers’ requirements which cannot be satisfied through current regulated qualifications. ABC Awards & Certa Awards endorsement involves robust and rigorous quality audits by external auditors to ensure quality is continually met. A review of courses is carried out as part of the endorsement process.

ABC Awards and Certa Awards have long-established reputations for providing high quality vocational qualifications across a wide range of industries. ABC Awards and Certa Awards combine over 180 years of expertise combined with a responsive, flexible and innovative approach to the needs of our customers.

Renowned for excellent customer service, and quality standards, ABC Awards and Certa Awards also offer regulated qualifications for all ages and abilities post-14; all are developed with the support of relevant stakeholders to ensure that they meet the needs and standards of employers across the UK.

*Regulated qualification refers to those qualifications that are regulated by Ofqual / CCEA / Qualification Wales

View Testimonials
Submit a Testimonial