The Health & Social Care Studies - Level 4 Course has been specially written by an experienced tutor and practitioner in the area of Health and Social Care. If you want to enter this varied and exciting area of work or want to enhance your knowledge and skills, this is the course for you.

As you will see from the detailed units there are wide ranging subjects covered and we are confident that whatever your next step, you will have a good grounding of the theory involved prior to undertaking on-the-job experience or, if you are already working in a related environment, your expertise will be increased considerably. The term Health and Social Care covers a wide range of integrated disciplines including elements of sociology, biology, nutrition, law, and ethics. From this study, students should be able to progress a more specialised area of further study or a related occupation or training.

On successful completion of this course students will receive an accredited Level 4 Certificate of Achievement.

The Course Includes the Following Units:-

  • Unit 1 - Communication

The following topics are covered: Methods of Communication; Hearing Impairment; Factors that Support and Inhibit Communication; Non-verbal Communication; Factors Effecting Verbal Communication; Factors Affecting Written Communication; Factors Affecting Oral Verbal Communication; Communication Difficulties; Communication Barriers in Different Care Settings; and Theories Relating to Communication.

  • Unit 2 – Promoting Quality Care

The following topics are covered: Rights and Responsibilities of Service Users; Children and Young People; Vulnerable Adults; Staying Safe; Facilitation of Access to Services; Value Systems; Psychological Life Quality Factors; and Practical Skills.

  • Unit 3 – Life Cycle & Disorders

The following topics are covered: Growth; Development; Life Expectancy; Factors Influencing Development; and Genetic Factors.

  • Unit 4 – Theories of Development

The following topics are covered: Theories of Human Development; Psychodynamic Perspective; Biological Perspective; Humanist Perspective; Constructive Perspective; Behavioural Perspective; Skinner's contribution; Social Learning Perspective; Language Acquisition; Theories of Personality Development; Evaluation of the Psychometric Explanation; Bowlby's Theory of Attachment; The Application of Theories to Aid the Understanding of Human Behaviour and Development; Childcare and Education services; and Day or Residential Care settings for Adults.

  • Unit 5 – Quality of Life

The following topics are covered: Psychological factors; and Conflicting Quality of Life Factors.

  • Unit 6 – Nutrition

The following topics are covered: Guideline Daily Amount (GDA); Eating Disorders; Psychological; Biological; and Social.

  • Unit 7 – Addiction

The following topics are covered: Drugs; & Alcohol.

  • Unit 8 – Abuse

The following topics are covered: Staying Safe; Abuse and the Law; Sexual Offences Act 2003; Domestic Violence, Crime and Victims Bill 2003; and Rights of Victims.

  • Unit 9 – Mental Health

The following topics are covered: The Concept of Mental Health; Definition of Mental Health; Attitudes to Mental Disorder; History of Mental Illness; Definition of Mental Disorders; Major Symptoms and Causes; Schizophrenia (Greek meaning to split the mind); Depression; Bipolar Affective Disorder; Obsessive Compulsive Disorder (OCD); Anxiety Disorder; Specific Phobias; Alcoholism; Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder; Oppositional Defiant Disorder (ODD); and Alzheimer’s.

  • Unit 10 – Social Care Provision

The following topics are covered: Treating People Well; Care Plans; Barriers to Care; Rights and Responsibilities of Service Users; and Social Services.

  • Unit 11 – Legislation

The following topics are covered: NHS and Community Care Act 1990; The Mental Health Act; Suicide Act; Human Rights Act; The Mental Capacity Act; Lasting Powers of Attorney (LPAs); Court Appointed Deputies; A New Court of Protection; A New Public Guardian; Independent Mental Capacity Advocate (IMCA); Advance decisions to refuse treatment; A criminal offence; The Children Act 1989; The Children Act 2004; Every Child Matters; Childcare Act 2006; United Nations Convention in the Rights of the Child 1989; The Disability Discrimination Act; and Race Relations Act 1976.


As this is a Level 4 course, we will expect applicants to have evidence of successful study or relevant experience at Level 3 or equivalent. A good level of literacy is also a requirement if the extended assignment work is to be completed successfully.

Course Duration & Support:

Students may register at any time and have a full year to complete their studies. You also have access to a personal tutor by mail or email for a 12 month period. As the course is self study you can complete in as little or as long a time as you prefer.


You will be assessed on TMAs (Tutor Marked Assignments). Most TMAs consists of short paragraph answers to although a number of the TMAs do have a specific word count, but first and foremost you have to prove to the tutor that you have fully understood the questions. If you don’t come up to the mark at first, your tutor will be happy to give guidance as to how you might improve. Your work can be sent back to your course tutor by email or by post.


At the end of this course successful learners will receive a Certificate of Achievement from ABC Awards and Certa Awards and a Learner Unit Summary (which lists the components the learner has completed as part of the course).

The course has been endorsed under the ABC Awards and Certa Awards Quality Licence Scheme. This means that Kendal Publishing has undergone an external quality check to ensure that the organisation and the courses it offers, meet defined quality criteria. The completion of this course alone does not lead to a regulated qualification* but may be used as evidence of knowledge and skills gained.

The Learner Unit Summary may be used as evidence towards Recognition of Prior Learning if you wish to progress your studies in this subject. To this end the learning outcomes of the course have been benchmarked at Level 4 against level descriptors published by Ofqual, to indicate the depth of study and level of demand/complexity involved in successful completion by the learner.

Information on level descriptors can be found on the Ofqual's level descriptors page.

The course itself has been designed by Kendal Publishing to meet specific learners’ and/or employers’ requirements which cannot be satisfied through current regulated qualifications. ABC Awards & Certa Awards endorsement involves robust and rigorous quality audits by external auditors to ensure quality is continually met. A review of courses is carried out as part of the endorsement process.

ABC Awards and Certa Awards have long-established reputations for providing high quality vocational qualifications across a wide range of industries. ABC Awards and Certa Awards combine over 180 years of expertise combined with a responsive, flexible and innovative approach to the needs of our customers.

Renowned for excellent customer service, and quality standards, ABC Awards and Certa Awards also offer regulated qualifications for all ages and abilities post-14; all are developed with the support of relevant stakeholders to ensure that they meet the needs and standards of employers across the UK.

*Regulated qualification refers to those qualifications that are regulated by Ofqual / CCEA / Qualification Wales

View Testimonials
Submit a Testimonial