The Introducing Caring for Children & Young People - CACHE Level 2 Certificate (RQF) Course leads to an introductory childcare qualification suitable for students without any or with little previous knowledge or experience in this sector, but who feel that they can study at above the level 1 foundation standard.

This level 2 certificate qualification could be suitable as a piece of initial training for someone wanting to work in or for someone already working within a supervised capacity. This course is designed to cover the areas we feel are most important for someone seeking a comprehensive introduction to the childcare sector. The focus is mainly on children’s' welfare and health and safety.

On successful completion on this course students will receive an accredited Level 2 Certificate Qualification with 16 Credits.

This Home Study Course Includes the Following 5 Units:-

  • Unit 1 - Safeguarding the welfare of children and young people (3 Credits)

The following topics are covered: Multi-agency working; The community; Safeguarding Children's Board; A Child in Need; Policies and procedures; e-Safety; Mobile Phones; Caring for sick children; Promoting health and hygiene; Managing children with allergies, or who are sick or infectious; Procedures for children with allergies; Procedures for children who are sick or infectious; First Aid; Missing children; Uncollected child; Child Abuse; Bullying; and Childminders protecting yourself when working alone.

  • Unit 2 - Respecting and valuing children (2 Credits)

The following topics are covered: The Acts; Exploring Anti-Discriminatory Practice; Personal Social and Emotional Development; Dispositions and attitudes; Self confidence and self-esteem; Tips for boosting self-esteem in children; Making relationships and interacting with others; Emotions and self-control; Self-care; Sense of community; Balancing children's growing needs for independence with keeping children safe; and Coping with new situations.

  • Unit 3 - Importance of play for early learning (6 Credits)

The following topics are covered: Growth and development including physical, intellectual, language, emotional and social; Age of child stage of development explanation; Physical development; Intellectual development; Language development; Emotional development; Social development; Factors which affect growth and development; Feeding the imagination; Painting; Drawing; Model making; Music; Role play and imaginative play; Competitive and non-competitive games and activities; Language and communication; Linking sounds and letters; Reading; Having knowledge of nursery rhymes; Writing; English as an additional language; Forming relationships; Sense of community; Exploring cultures and religions; Religious and cultural festivals; Equal Opportunities; Recognising and dealing with emotions; Possible signs of distress; Emotional activities; Growing independence; The importance of fresh air and exercise; Making exercise fun; Knowledge and understanding of the world; Science and technology; Cooking; Exploring the senses; Activities to support children with the national curriculum.

  • Unit 4 - Use food and nutrition information to plan a healthy diet (3 Credits)

The following topics are covered: Main Food Groups; The Eat well plate; Health problems associated with excess and inadequate nutrition intake in children and adults; Childhood Health problems associated with being overweight; Good health and five a day recommendations; Body mass index; Key nutrients and vitamins; Non nutrient foods; The balance of good health; Recommended daily allowances from each food group; Improving nutrition and reducing health problems in children; The structure of the digestive system; and Food labels.

  • Unit 5 - Accident prevention and fire safety when babysitting (2 Credits)

The following topics are covered: Identifying possible risks in the home; Living room; Kitchen; Stairs; Bathroom; Playroom; Using Equipment Safely; Maintaining Equipment; and Check lists


There is no previous learning knowledge or experience required to take this course.

Course Duration & Support:

Students may register at any time and have a full year to complete their studies. You also have access to a personal tutor by mail or email for a 12 month period. As the course is self-study you can complete in as little or as long a time as you prefer.


The course contains a number of Tutor Marked Assignments (TMAs) which your tutor will mark and give you valuable feedback on. The course also contains some self-assessment exercises which are designed to gauge your progress but are not part of the assessment procedures.


On successful completion of this course students will be awarded an Introducing Caring for Children and Young People qualification issued by CACHE. This qualification has been accredited on the Regulated Qualifications Framework (RQF Qualification No: 600/0336/4). This is a Level 2 Certificate Qualification and has 16 Credits.

Information on level descriptors can be found on the Ofqual's level descriptors page.

What is CACHE?

CACHE is the UK's only specialist awarding organisation for the children and adult care sectors, with a portfolio of qualifications ranging from Entry to Level 5. Last year, over 150,000 learners registered with them from over 1000 UK based Centres and overseas. For further information, go to: Please note that although you are purchasing this course from Distance Learning Centre, the delivery, assessment and quality assurance will be carried out by OSC who are an approved CACHE centre for assessment and certification.

View Testimonials
Submit a Testimonial