The Health & Social Care - Level 3 Course has been developed for students who have an interest in Health and Social Care.

Whether you have a goal to work as a nurse, social worker, health visitor or even as a paramedic, this course can provide you with the right stepping stone.

Covering many of the important issues faced in the helping professions, this course provides one of the first steps to your success.

On successful completion of this course students will receive an accredited Level 3 Certificate of Achievement.

The Course Includes the Following Units:-

  • Unit 1 – Human Development & Growth

The following topics are covered: What is growth?; What is development?; Maturationist Theory; Constructive Theory; Environmentalist Theory; Life expectancy; and Mortality rates.

  • Unit 2 – Ill Health

The following topics are covered: Breast Cancer; Prostate Cancer; Lung Cancer; Alzheimer’s; Cerebral Palsy; Cystic Fibrosis; and Down’s Syndrome.

  • Unit 3 – Drugs

The following topics are covered: Lysergic acid diethylamide; Amanita muscaria; Speed; Poppers; Anabolic steroids; Tranquilisers; Cannabis; Heroin; Ecstasy; Cocaine; Tobacco; and Addiction.

  • Unit 4 – Alcohol

The following topics are covered: Effects of drinking; Cheap alcohol; Protecting profits; and Drinking culture.

  • Unit 5 – Nutrition

The following topics are covered: Guideline Daily Amount; Girls; and Boys.

  • Unit 6 – Eating Disorders

The following topics are covered: What are eating disorders?; Anorexia nervosa; Bulimia; and Binge eating disorder.

  • Unit 7 – Mental Health

The following topics are covered: Depression; Atypical depression; Unspecified depression; Post-natal depression; and Seasonal affective disorder.

  • Unit 8 – Personality Disorders

The following topics are covered: Paranoid personality disorder; Schizoid personality disorder; Schizotypal; Anti-social disorder; Borderline personality disorder; Histrionic personality disorder; Narcissistic personality disorder; Avoidant personality disorder; Dependent personality disorder and Obsessive-compulsive personality disorder.

  • Unit 9 – Abuse

The following topics are covered: Staying safe; Abuse and the Law; Sexual Offences Act 2003; Domestic Violence, Crime and Victims Bill 2003; Rights of victims; Injunctions; and Court orders.

  • Unit 10 – Social Care

The following topics are covered: Care plans; and Barriers to care.

  • Unit 11 – Legislation

The following topics are covered: NHS and Community Care Act 1990; The Mental Health Act; Sections; The Human Rights Act; The Mental Capacity Act; Lasting Powers of Attorney; Court of protection; Public Guardian; The Children Act 1989; The Children Act 2004; Childcare Act 2006; and Race Relations Act 1976.

  • Unit 12 – The National Health Service

The following topics are covered: Timeline of the NHS; Roles in the NHS; General Practitioners; Gynaecologists and Obstetricians; Psychologist; Psychiatrist; Nurse; Community Psychiatric Nurse; Social worker; Accident and Emergency; Minor injuries units and NHS walk-in centres.

  • Unit 13 – Social Services

The following topics are covered: Families; Communities; and Organisations.

  • Unit 14 – Fostering

The following topics are covered: Permanent fostering; Short term fostering; Respite placements; and Shared car.

  • Unit 15 – Child Care

The following topics are covered: The National Curriculum; and Office for Standards in Education.


There are no particular entry requirements.

Course Duration & Support:

You will have access to a tutor via post or email. In addition you will be supplied with a comprehensive Study Guide which will help you through the study and assessment process.


You will be assessed on coursework which is detailed in the course materials. Most coursework consists of short paragraph answers to set questions. Your work can be sent back to your course tutor by email or by post.


ABC AwardsOn successful completion of this course students will receive a Health & Social Care Studies Certificate of Achievement by ABC Awards and a Learner Unit Summary (which lists the details of all the units you have completed as part of your course).

The completion of this course alone does not lead to an Ofqual regulated qualification but may be used as evidence of knowledge and skills towards regulated qualifications in the future. The unit summary can be used as evidence towards Recognition of Prior Learning if you wish to progress your studies in this sector. To this end the learning outcomes of the course have been benchmarked at Level 3 against level descriptors published by Ofqual, to indicate the depth of study and level of difficulty involved in successful completion by the learner.


Information on level descriptors can be found on the Ofqual's level descriptors page.

The course has been endorsed under the ABC Awards’ Quality Licence Scheme. ABC Awards’ endorsement involves a robust and rigorous quality audit by external inspectors to ensure quality is consistently met. A regular review of courses is carried out as part of the endorsement process.  This means that the course developers (Kendal Publishing) have undergone an external quality check to ensure that the organisation and the courses it offers, meet certain quality criteria. The course itself has been designed by Kendal Publishing to meet specific learners’ or employers’ requirements.

View Testimonials
Submit a Testimonial